PDA

View Full Version : New user, new Id wanted

flexmartin
17th November 2006, 07:31 AM
This seems like a really really long shot to find this Id as the tune has no distinguishable sample or vocal hook. I'm trying to replicate the melody to post a sound clip in the future but I'm no producer so that's a challenge too.

Anyway, this tune would have been around towards the end of the '80's and was played on the 808 State shows from time-to-time. (Yes, I am downloading the old 808 shows and going through them but no luck so far, the downloadable shows start at 1990)

I had it on a tape when I was in my last year at school, so I'm sure it was about 1988-1999.

The tune:
It is not a nightclub tune, it's quirky and weird and 'acidic' edit: not acid style in the beat, not acid drops
There is a slow start with some ?303? rumblings accompanied by creaking echo-type noises. Then a tone (not a string, but almost) that pitchbends up and down for a while. Then a sound that I can't describe (edit: a little bit like the bleeps in Poindexter's "Computer Madness" and Shake's "Sonar123") provides more weirdness in a way that I can't describe :(
Damn, I need to try and replicate it, I'll get back to you.

The tune did come back into my life much later 1996+. I walked into Eastern Bloc and it was coming through the speakers. However at the time I didn't buy it and now it haunts me.

Catch ya soon

edit: There is a terrible attempt to recreate the tune attached. After the bad pitch bending there are some chimes, the chimes are on the right track and may jog a memory ... if I'm lucky ;-)

Konspiracy
17th November 2006, 09:58 AM
There are some tracklists on OSA - www.oldskoolanthemz.com , and on bradys site, will try and find the link

you can also check the forum on the 808 State site

without a better description, you are right it is a challenge